cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

DOE Question - Too Few Degrees of Freedom

I am very new to the JMP community - just got my account up and running the other day. 

I am running an experiment and I wish to see the effects of the main factors and all two-level interactions. I am using an L27 Taguchi array to account for four 3-level factors with three responses per row/per trial. I left some columns blank to make room for the two-level interactions. However, what I don't understand is when I run Fit Model and look at the Effect Tests, it appears that I do not have enough degrees of freedom to see whether or not my main factors and my two-level interactions are significant. (I plan on using an F-test to determine significance). 

From my understanding, the total degrees of freedom for a given design/system is N-1, where N is the number of responses, or data points. I should have (27 runs * 3 responses per run) - 1 = 80 degrees of freedom. Even with subtracting off the #levels - 1 degrees of freedom for each main factor (80 less 8 = 72 left now) and the degrees of freedom for each two-way interaction, I don't see how I could run out of degrees of freedom. 

Maybe I input something wrong in the table in JMP? Note: I did change some of the combinations of the numbers/levels for each run in my Taguchi array according to the columns that I left blank; see my attachments for my JMP file and my raw data. 

Thank you in advance for your help and guidance!

9 REPLIES 9
Georg
Level VII

Re: DOE Question - Too Few Degrees of Freedom

Welcome to the Community.

I think you need to specify your two-way interactions in the model dialog (or in the DOE generation dialog already, where it effects power and n runs). The script saved in your table contains only main effects.

Georg