Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
AllenJH
Level II

Copy and Paste multiple column headers?

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to JMP (v14 here), so I apologize if this has been asked before.  I'm attempting to concatenate some data files (csv) and multiple import is working fairly well... I will have duplicates to take care of as well as some column differences... I may end up with a powershell concatenate without worrying about this import in jmp, but I thought I'd try jmp first.

In a few of the files, I've found a lack of first line header info.  So, if I chose to use the first line as a header, the data finds itself as the column names in the jmp data table.  An easy solution to this would be to insert a line, copy in the header line into the first line... but then I'm at a loss as to how to actually copy and paste the header "row"... is there a way to manipulate the headers all together and not select all the columns' rows at the same time?

Thanks again for your help and suggestions!!

-Allen

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
julian
Community Manager Community Manager

Re: Copy and Paste multiple column headers?

Hi @AllenJH,

You can copy the column headers by selecting the columns in the columns list on the left, and then copying with Edit > Copy As Text (not Edit > Copy). Then, select the first row and then Edit > Paste. 

CopyAsText.gif

In JMP 16 (available 2021) there are built-in utilities for situations like this available under Cols > Column Names >. For earlier versions of JMP, I highly recommend @MikeD_Anderson 'sColumn Name Utilities II Add-In, which adds these same utilities. 

So why not Edit > Copy? Edit > Copy returns text in rows, which is useful when you're copying column names from one table to another. Edit > Copy As Text will return a tab delimited list, which is good for this particular case where what you are asking jmp for is the transpose of your columns list.