cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Sciguy_1
Level III

Converting numeric seconds to 0:00.0 time format

I cannot seem to find a simple way to accomplish this in jmp. I have tried to include a snapshot of what I am doing but does not want to load. Say that I have a numeric value of 0.000021713. In time format this should be 0:01.9   When I apply the m/s format with 1 decimal to the numeric value, jmp returns 0:00.0  This is not difficult to replicate, my colleagues see the same issue.

Not sure if I am doing something incorrect or if in fact it is a programming issue within jmp. I have been using jmp for several years now, first time I have run across an issue I cannot seem to find assistance to resolve. Any assistance would be much appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Converting numeric seconds to 0:00.0 time format

I believe you are looking at .000021713 as a fraction of a day. But JMP's time units are in seconds. So, if you take that 0.000021713 and put it into the "In Days" function, you will get 1.8760032. Now apply your format and add one decimal place. You will get what you want.

I am including a data table that shows all of these steps.

Dan Obermiller

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
julian
Community Manager Community Manager

Hi @Sciguy_1,

I suspect this is in part due to the number of decimal places you are showing. In the attached example I changed to 10 in the Column Properties for my duration column (see below). 

But, I'm a little confused about why you expect 0.000021713 to come out formatted as 0:01.9. Is your numeric value not in seconds? If it's something else I'm sure we can figure out a transformation to get it into a format JMP is expecting.