cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
leapfrog
Level I

Comparing multiple rows in a large table & keeping row with largest value

Hi Guys-

I am somewhat new to JMP...I have a large 1,000,000+ row table (13 columns) that I need to consolidate in the following way:

I have multiple rows for observations on a single case- (not each case is observed the same number of times- some have 3 observations, some 10). I want to construct a summary table, keeping the observation with the largest values for each unique case.

Thanks!

-t
6 REPLIES 6
mpb
mpb
Level VII

Re: Comparing multiple rows in a large table & keeping row with largest value

How do you define "the observation with the largest values for each unique case"? Assuming that one of the columns contains the case id, that leaves 12 columns each of which could have a "largest value" for each unique case.
ms
Super User (Alumni) ms
Super User (Alumni)

Re: Comparing multiple rows in a large table & keeping row with largest val

If you have a column with an unique case identifier and assuming that any multiple measurements/variables for each observation are in the same row (but in different columns), I'd use the Summary command in the Tables menu.

In the Summary dialog, choose to group by your case id and then select the variables that you want in the summary table and choose "Max" in the Statistics drop-down list.

That would give you a table with one row for each case and the highest values for each variable. A column with the number of observations (= nr of rows, incl. those with any missing values) for each case will also be generated automatically.
mpb
mpb
Level VII