cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Compare means between corresponding treatments across TWO datasets

Dear jump community,

I apologize if the question has been asked multiple times, I am completely new to this.

I have two datasets (25 degrees and 40 degrees) both measuring spectral counts (Counts, continuous) of a list of 1000 proteins (Proteins, nominal) in triplicate (A, B, C). So, each set would have 25 degrees - protein 1 - counts A, B, C. 40 degrees - protein 1 - counts A, B, C. I would like to compare the means of each count measurements accross temperatures, i.e. is 25 degrees - protein 566 significantly different from 40 degrees - protein 566 and NOT if 25 degrees - protein 566 is different from protein 25 degrees - 567.

Can you please help me on how to format, type and plot the data? If there is any "stacking" involved, how do I need to label the treatments?

Thank you SO much.

All the best.

4 REPLIES 4
txnelson
Super User

Re: Compare means between corresponding treatments across TWO datasets

The first thing you need to do is to go to the "Learn JMP" selection at the top of this page and go through "Getting Started" section to familiarize yourself with how JMP works, then move on to the "JMP Analytic Capabilities" section.

I would also search the past Discussions for items that may be relevant to your analysis. 

When you come back to this discussion, it will also be very helpful if you can provide a sample of the 2 data tables you have.  Having actual samples makes it much easier for the members of the JMP Community visualize the problem, and to come up with solutions.  

Jim
Victor_G
Super User

Hi @AdditiveTiger68,

Welcome in the Community !

In order to compare your data from two different tables, you will need to combine these two datasets in a stacked format, like this :

Victor_G_0-1717330588627.png