cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Level III

Chi square test of independence and categorical variable

I am quite new to statistics. I have designed an experiment where participants are supposed to tap to reproduce the tempo of some music samples. I have manipulated the music samples at tempo values at 60, 120 and 150 bpm, which is my x-variable and I have labelled it as categorical and nominal. In addition to the recorded tempo values (y-variable), I am looking at one more variable which I call the S-factor. The S-factor is a categorical variable and provides me information if the given tempo and the reproduced tempo match. For eg. If 60 bpm was perceived at 60 bpm, the label is 1 = Same. If 60 was perceived at 120 then the label is 2=Double. There are 4 labels in S-factor 0- Half, 1= Same, 2 = Double, 3 = Other. 

My H0 is = The perceived tempo is same as given tempo which means 60 will be perceived at 60, 120 will be perceived at 120 and 150 at 150.

H1 = The perceived tempo is not same as given tempo. 

I have two questions:

1) Is Given tempo (60bpm, 120 bpm and 150 bpm) at which the songs are presented a categorical variable or continuous variable? Should S-factor be labelled as nominal or ordinal variable?

2) In order to test the hypothesis, should I do the chi-square test of independence since both Given Tempo and perceived tempo are categorical or Should I just go to analyse ---> Fit Model ----> Put Tempo as x-variable and S-Factor as y-variable? I do not if these are two different approaches of looking at the problem or only one of them is correct?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions