BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
NathalieWojta

New Contributor

Joined:

Aug 31, 2018

Changing frame size of just one of two parallel graphs in graph builder?

Hello everyone,

 

I am still quite new to jmp and I hope, I was not hopelessly blind and did oversee an already existing topic. I am a pro at this one.

So, my problem is:

I want to create box plots that first start with all results plotted in one box followed by the results of different collectives. I was able to create this kind of figure using the Graph Builder by creating two parallel graphs (see picture below: reality). But I would like the first diagram to be smaller (wish). Not only because this approach would safe a lot of space but also because it facilitates the understanding of the picture. Is it possible, to fullfill my wish? Thank you all in advance.

trial_jmp_allvsreagent_wish.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
gzmorgan0

Super User

Joined:

Jul 25, 2016

Solution

Re: Changing frame size of just one of two parallel graphs in graph builder?

Hold down the ALT key and just below the lower right corner of the ALL area click (a dashed box appears)  and drag the left edge of the dashed box to the left.

 

To be fair, I always forget this key sequence and never achieve the size I want.  Since I do a lot of scripting, I prefer to set it specifically with a script.  Using your graph, click the red menu and select Save Script to Sript window. Then add a Relative Sizes() statement like the one below, and rerun the script (right click and select Run).

 

Here is an example using Big Class, the script is shown below the picture

image.png

 

 

Names default to here(1);
Open("$sample_data/big class.jmp");


//left frame is 120 pixels wide, which is one third the size 
//of the right frame that is 360 pixels wide

Graph Builder(
	Size( 511, 330 ),
	Show Control Panel( 0 ),
	Variables( X( :sex ), X( :age ), Y( :height ) ),
	Relative Sizes( "X", [120 360] ),
	Elements(
		Position( 1, 1 ),
		Points( X, Y, Legend( 9 ) ),
		Box Plot( X, Y, Legend( 11 ) )
	),
	Elements(
		Position( 2, 1 ),
		Points( X, Y, Legend( 10 ) ),
		Box Plot( X, Y, Legend( 12 ) )
	)
);

 

7 REPLIES 7
txnelson

Super User

Joined:

Jun 22, 2012

Re: Changing frame size of just one of two parallel graphs in graph builder?

I am not able to see your Reality and Wish graphs.  All I see are the words, Reality       Wish

Jim
NathalieWojta

New Contributor

Joined:

Aug 31, 2018

Re: Changing frame size of just one of two parallel graphs in graph builder?

The colours are really light, I apologize. I have itensified them and hope, the images are visible now:

 

trial_jmp_allvsreagent_wish.jpg

 

gzmorgan0

Super User

Joined:

Jul 25, 2016

Solution

Re: Changing frame size of just one of two parallel graphs in graph builder?

Hold down the ALT key and just below the lower right corner of the ALL area click (a dashed box appears)  and drag the left edge of the dashed box to the left.

 

To be fair, I always forget this key sequence and never achieve the size I want.  Since I do a lot of scripting, I prefer to set it specifically with a script.  Using your graph, click the red menu and select Save Script to Sript window. Then add a Relative Sizes() statement like the one below, and rerun the script (right click and select Run).

 

Here is an example using Big Class, the script is shown below the picture

image.png

 

 

Names default to here(1);
Open("$sample_data/big class.jmp");


//left frame is 120 pixels wide, which is one third the size 
//of the right frame that is 360 pixels wide

Graph Builder(
	Size( 511, 330 ),
	Show Control Panel( 0 ),
	Variables( X( :sex ), X( :age ), Y( :height ) ),
	Relative Sizes( "X", [120 360] ),
	Elements(
		Position( 1, 1 ),
		Points( X, Y, Legend( 9 ) ),
		Box Plot( X, Y, Legend( 11 ) )
	),
	Elements(
		Position( 2, 1 ),
		Points( X, Y, Legend( 10 ) ),
		Box Plot( X, Y, Legend( 12 ) )
	)
);

 

txnelson

Super User

Joined:

Jun 22, 2012

Re: Changing frame size of just one of two parallel graphs in graph builder?

Wow.......I am in total awe of of you Ms. M.

Jim
gzmorgan0

Super User

Joined:

Jul 25, 2016

Re: Changing frame size of just one of two parallel graphs in graph builder?

Back at you!

NathalieWojta

New Contributor

Joined:

Aug 31, 2018

Re: Changing frame size of just one of two parallel graphs in graph builder?

Good morning and thank you for the solution. :)

 

That was as easy as I had feared it to be. I apologize for my blindness and wish you all a wonderfull week!

markschahl

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jun 18, 2012

Re: Changing frame size of just one of two parallel graphs in graph builder?

Just found this and used it. Thanks!
One thing I found is that the list can truly take relative sizes not in pixels. I built a two panel graph with [125 375]. I tried [1 3] just for grins. Got the same result.
DO NOT comma separate the elements in that list. It won't run. Took me 20 minutes to figure out what my mistake was...