cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
BooBee
Level III

Can JSL be used to automate plotting of charts and adding of ref lines among others

Hi,

I plot Distribution charts on a regular basis. Some days I get just a few columns of data, some days quite a bit more.

Once the individual charts are generated, I will need to adjust their respective min/max Y axis for readability, and then add in a couple of reference lines (basically USL and LSL lines).  After a while, it gets tedious, especially there are a lot of columns of data.

I would like to see if there is any way of automating this process since the process itself is relatively straightforward and repeating. I'm thinking of JSL scripting can be the solution here (I'm very new to scripting).

This is what I would like the script to do:
1. Each column of data consists of 5 data points, with the 1st and 2nd row containing the USL and LSL respectively
2. The script should read all the columns of data 

3. Plot individual Distribution charts for all the data

4. Add in USL and LSL reference lines (can we set the line thickness and color here?)

5. Then change the Min of the Y axis to LSL-0.003 and Max of Y axis to USL to USL+0.003

Can JSL do the above?

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jthi
Super User

Re: Can JSL be used to automate plotting of charts and adding of ref lines among others

Short answer: JSL can do that.

-Jarmo

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
jthi
Super User

Re: Can JSL be used to automate plotting of charts and adding of ref lines among others

Short answer: JSL can do that.

-Jarmo
txnelson
Super User

1. Welcome to the Community 
  2. Yes a JMP script can easily perform the tasks you outlined.