cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
acunar
Level II

Averaging multiple observations

Hello JMP Community,

I am new to the JMP software, and had a question regarding multiple observations in my data. I am working with data dealing with patients. Obviously, I do not want to have one person show up multiple times in my data when I am trying to make certain types of comparisons. I was wondering if there was a way to average the multiples that I received for each patient, for example, if they have multiple different scores for a certain test.

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Averaging multiple observations

@cradle

If you could post a sample (fake data table) that mimic your data table with fake patient ids and scores that would be great to help see how your data is layout. One way to do this is that you could highlight on the column with the score > right click (a drop down list of commands would appear) > select new formula column,  select "aggregate", > select Mean.

This though will give you the aggregate mean score of for that column assuming all those score belongs to a single patient. I am not so sure that is what you want, but that fact is that JMP will use that formulation to calculate 1 mean score for all the different scores and that will appear in a separate column duplicated.

11962_Fake Test Summary.jpg