cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Galinsoga57b
Level I

Analysis of Combined Experiments

Hello, I am a graduate student doing agricultural research in physical weed control. My question is, how to properly test for year effects between experiments in JMP Pro 16.0.0 (macOS)?

I have designed a full factorial completely randomized block design experiment that tests the effects tool angle and spacing on efficacy (proportion of weeds killed). Each experiment consists of four blocks, three tool angles, and three tool spacings. This experiment was replicated in 2021 and 2022 in different fields (on the same farm). 

The model I have built is shown below:

Year (random effect)

Block[Year] (random effect)

Year*Tool Angle (random effect)

Year*Tool Spacing (random effect)

Year*Tool Angle*Tool Spacing (random effect)

Tool Angle (fixed effect)

Tool Spacing (fixed effect)

Tool Angle*Tool Spacing (fixed effect)

I have been told this is correct. I have seen this model in journal articles, but I have also seen other models used by students/researchers. Other models show a tool angle effect, but the model above shows no tool angle effect. I am confused as to which is correct. When I save residuals in JMP are they the residuals from Year*Tool Angle*Tool Spacing (random effect)?

My other question is, what does it mean when the Wald p-Value is not significant (for a random effect in the REML Variance Component Estimates table), but when you conduct a Students t-test within the Effect Details Tab, the experiments are statistically different from each other?  

Any thoughts are appreciated. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Analysis of Combined Experiments