cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
AlexandruS
Level I

Adding specific data points with labels to a contour plot

Hello Community,

I am relatively new to jmp and have a contour plot question.

I have performed 20 experiments whose design was central composite. I fitted a response surface model to my data.

I then used the model to generate predictions over my entire deisgn space. I then did a contour plot of the predictions. 

Is there a way I could add my experimental data points, say marked with an x, to the contour plot. Is there also a way I could label these data points with the value of the dependent variable I found in my experiments?

Attached is an image I drew in paint to illustrate what I want to do. I do not know how to program so a reply with menu selections and/or screen shoots would be most helpful. Thank you very muchwhat I want to do.jpg

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
cwillden
Super User (Alumni)

Re: Adding specific data points with labels to a contour plot

Hi @AlexandruS,

Welcome to the community! This one is a bit of doozy for a new JMP user because we're going to have to do lots of JMP scripting, but here we go:

I assume you're viewing the contour profiler in Fit Model and not in a separate custom profiler.  Either way, the same general steps apply.  I'm using the Custom RSM sample data set from the sample data library.

Start by opening a new script and create a variable reference to your data table.  Here, I'm just opening the Custom RSM table.

dt = Open("$Sample_Data\Design Experiment\Custom RSM.jmp");