Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Adding labels to Graph Builder heat map

xm

Community Trekker

Joined:

Apr 25, 2014

After scouring the forums and manuals and clicking all over JMP11 with zero success, I figured I should just ask here before I tear my hair out.


I've created a heat map using Graph Builder, and I'd like to display the actual values for each cell in my heat map. Seems as if this should be straightforward, but nothing's working. I'm no JMP novice, but am I missing something obvious? How can this be done?

I've attached a simple dataset with the script saved to illustrate what I mean. I'd really appreciate some help on this--I've reached the end of my rope!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
louv

Staff

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

Solution

While in graph builder try holding down the shift key and display both heat map and points together. I've scripted that to your data table.

5 REPLIES
louv

Staff

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

Solution

While in graph builder try holding down the shift key and display both heat map and points together. I've scripted that to your data table.

xm

Community Trekker

Joined:

Apr 25, 2014

What kind of sorcery is this???

Seriously, though, thanks, LouV. That worked. I'll be sure to randomly hold down Shift/Alt/Ctrl keys in the future when I'm exploring JMP and at my wit's end.

brady_brady

Staff

Joined:

Jun 9, 2012

You can do this by making the markers for all rows " ", the space character, labeling all rows. You need to display the points to get the labels to show on the heatmap, but the points won't actually show since you've got an empty marker set for them. This will make it impossible to see points on any other graphs linked to this table, though.

Run the Graph Builder 3 script in the attached table to see what this looks like.

Cheers,

Brady

xm

Community Trekker

Joined:

Apr 25, 2014

Good workaround, Brady^2. I'll work this into my final script--makes the heatmap look less cluttered. Thank you for the tip!

samir

Community Trekker

Joined:

May 20, 2016

Hi Brady,

Indeed very interesting work around.

I tried it and it works...However I found an issue and may be you can help:

I see that the labels are not centered in their own rectangles. is there a way to do so ?

Please find attached a data table containing a script that illustrates my problem.

Do you also know how to interactively do what your line of code (Points( X, Y, Color( 0 ), Legend( 8 ), Jitter( 0 ) )) does ? I mean specifically setting the color to 0.

Many thanks in advance.