cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Craige_Hales
Super User
What time is it?

I've been re-purposing old cell phones as clocks for several years.

Android 2.2.2 - Froyo. This one still going, its sibling has failed. And more recent phones have failed.Android 2.2.2 - Froyo. This one still going, its sibling has failed. And more recent phones have failed.

Two have just failed. That's the last one running...good hardware. Really old OS, but still gets the time off the network and still updates when we switch to daylight time and back.

So I need to replace them, and I started thinking about Arduinos and Raspberries and stumbled into ESP32.

Quarter inch squares, this is about 25cm x 50cmQuarter inch squares, this is about 25cm x 50cm

This is from espressif and I got this one on amazon, 3 for $17. So far I've played with blinking an LED and using the built-in WIFI hardware. Yes, WIFI, and blue tooth, and lots of I/O pins, 4M rom and 512K ram (I think. have not explored far enough to know for sure.) In the process, I ran the NTP (Network Time Protocol) example and started wondering how NTP works.

At the bottom, NTP is really simple. A computer that wants to know the time sends a short message to another computer that hosts an NTP server, and that computer sends a short message back that includes the GMT time. Done.

(It is much more complicated; apparently the NTP servers may answer the question 1000 times a second! And the mechanisms for synchronizing the servers use statistics. And David L Mills invented the NTP stuff around 1980.)