cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

JMP Library

Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Latest Posts

  • Search JMP

    If you are not sure where to find a statistical procedure, do a search across JMP. Results are tailored to the window that you launch the search from, such as a data table or report. Click Help > Search JMP. Or, press Ctrl+comma on Windows, ^+comma on Mac.Enter your search text.Click the result that contains the procedure that you want. On the right, you can see a description and the location of t...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:09 PM
    808 views | 0 replies
  • Capture a JMP Workflow

    If you find yourself doing the same steps over and over in JMP, capture your steps with Workflow Builder. It is like an advanced macro that records your actions in JMP so that you can replay them or share them with others. Select File > New > Workflow.Click Record to start recording.Perform your steps in JMP, like opening a data table and performing analyses. As you complete an analysis, close the...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:09 PM
    1537 views | 0 replies
  • Copy or Pin Data in a Plot

    When you place your cursor over a data point in a plot, you see that data point's information (including images, if they exist) in a hover label. To copy the label information, right-click on the hover label and select Copy. Then, you can paste the information into another application. Copy Data in a Plot To pin the hover label information, click the Pin icon in the top corner of the hover label...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:09 PM
    1025 views | 0 replies
  • Automatically Save Open Windows (macOS)

    Automatically save all open projects, reports, data tables, journals, or scripts at specified intervals. Select JMP > Preferences > General, and set the number of minutes next to Autosave Timeout. Automatically Saving Open Windows

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:09 PM
    887 views | 0 replies
  • Automatically Save Open Windows (Windows)

    Automatically save all open projects, reports, data tables, journals, or scripts at specified intervals. Select File > Preferences > General, and set the number of minutes next to Autosave Timeout. Automatically Saving Open Windows

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:09 PM
    1659 views | 0 replies
  • Paste Reports into Other Applications (macOS)

    To copy a portion of a report, use the selection tool () on the toolbar or the Tools menu. Select the areas that you want to copy. Hold the Shift key to select more than one area.Select Edit > Copy.In the other application, select Edit > Paste or Edit > Paste Special. You can also drag the selection from JMP to the destination. Note: JMP makes clipboard data available in multiple formats, and ...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:09 PM
    676 views | 0 replies
  • Paste Reports into Other Applications (Windows)

    To copy a portion of a report, use the selection tool () on the toolbar or the Tools menu. Select the areas that you want to copy. Hold the Shift key to select more than one area.Select Edit > Copy.Follow the other application's directions for pasting text and objects from other programs. You can also drag the selection from JMP to the destination. Note: JMP makes clipboard data available in m...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:08 PM
    826 views | 0 replies
  • Execute Several Actions (macOS)

    To select several commands simultaneously: Hold down the Option key and click the red triangle. A window appears that contains all of the options on the red triangle menu. Change as many options as you want.(Optional) To save your changes as preferences, under Platform Preferences, click Save Changes to.Click OK. Select Multiple Options

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:08 PM
    743 views | 0 replies
  • Execute Several Actions (Windows)

    To select several commands simultaneously: In a JMP report, hold down the Alt key and click the red triangle. The window contains all of the options on the red triangle menu. Change as many options as you want.(Optional) To save your changes as preferences, under Platform Preferences, click Save Changes to.Click OK. Select Multiple Options

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:08 PM
    811 views | 0 replies
  • Show the Text Log in the Script Window (macOS)

    Display the embedded log to quickly see the results of your changes as you run and develop a script. To open the embedded log, right-click in the Script Editor and select Show Embedded Log. Or, to open the embedded log every time you open the Script Editor, select JMP > Preferences > Script Editor > Show embedded log on script window open. Embedded Log

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:08 PM
    856 views | 0 replies
  • Show the Text Log in the Script Window (Windows)

    Display the embedded log to quickly see the results of your changes as you run and develop a script. To open the embedded log, right-click in the Script Editor and select Show Embedded Log. Or, to open the embedded log every time you open the Script Editor, select File > Preferences > Script Editor > Show embedded log on script window open. Embedded Log

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:08 PM
    1818 views | 0 replies
  • Quickly Import Data

    Use a wizard to quickly import data from the web, Excel, a PDF, and more. Select View (Windows) or Window (macOS) > JMP Starter.Click Import.Depending on the type of data or where you want to import it from, choose a wizard.Follow the steps in the wizard to import your data. Import Data from the JMP Starter

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:08 PM
    915 views | 0 replies
  • Make Data Files Smaller

    Use compression to minimize the size of your data table, allowing JMP to run faster. Compressing columns is particularly helpful when numeric columns contain many small integers, or when any column contains fewer than 255 unique values. For example, compressing columns in a data table with 389 columns and 85,000 rows might decrease the file size from 250MB to 33MB, depending on the type of data. T...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:08 PM
    1901 views | 0 replies
  • Create a Dashboard

    A dashboard is a visual tool that lets you run and present reports on a regular basis. To create a dashboard: Open the windows that you want to combine. Select File > New > Dashboard (Windows) or File > New > New Dashboard (Macintosh).Select the Blank Dashboard template.From the Reports pane, double-click each open window to place it on the dashboard.From the Dashboard Builder red triangle menu, s...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:08 PM
    3284 views | 0 replies
  • Find Out Why Data Is Not Interactive

    When you publish a report to JMP Live or export it to interactive HTML, most features are interactive. If your report contains features that are not supported and will be static, you get a notification during the publishing process. Notification of Partially Implemented HTML Features To find out which features are not supported, open the JMP Log. Select View > Log. JMP Log

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:08 PM
    961 views | 0 replies
  • Quickly See Which Data Table is Active

    When you have several data tables open, it can be hard to tell which one is active. In the Window List, the active data table is bold. Below, you can see that Big Class is the active data table. Window List Showing Active Data Table

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:00 PM
    608 views | 0 replies
  • Get Histograms Quickly

    To see how your data are distributed, get histograms from your data table in a single click. Open a data table.In the top left of the data grid, click the Histogram icon. Data Table Showing Histograms

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 12:00 PM
    677 views | 0 replies
  • Window Switcher

    To cycle through your open JMP windows, use Ctrl + Tab. Hold down the Ctrl key and repeatedly press Tab.To activate the selected window, release the Ctrl key. Or, you can click a window title. Window Switcher

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:59 AM
    1074 views | 0 replies
  • Variance Component Estimation using Expected Mean Squares

    Author: Caleb King Platforms: MSA Design (JMP 16+) Summary: Evaluating estimates of variance components is a vital part of evaluating MSA designs in general. The procedure used in JMP is based on simulations of estimates of variance components. This technical report walks through examples of how to compute estimates of variance components using the ANOVA or Expected Mean Squares approach, which is...

    calking calking
    Dec 21, 2023 11:57 AM
    1871 views | 0 replies
  • Go to the Home Window or the Related Data Table (macOS)

    To go to the Home Window from any other JMP window, press COMMAND + 2. To go to the related data table from a report, click the Show Data Table icon. View Associated Data

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:57 AM
    755 views | 0 replies
  • Go to the Home Window or the Related Data Table (Windows)

    To go to the Home Window from any other JMP window, press CTRL+1. Or, from a report, click the JMP Home Window icon. To go to the related data table from a report, click the View Associated Data icon.

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:57 AM
    905 views | 0 replies
  • Preview Updates to Data

    When making changes to your data, you can preview changes before committing them. Preview is available for most of the tasks in the Tables menu. Open a data table.Click Tables and choose a task (Summary, Subset, and so on).Under Preview, make sure Auto Refresh is selected.Select columns and assign them to roles. The preview appears at right.When you are happy with the preview, click OK to perform ...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:57 AM
    823 views | 0 replies
  • Right-Click to Show Additional Options

    To see more options or select several options at once, in a report or plot, hold down the Alt key (Option on MacOS) and right-click. Right-Click Options in a Report

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:55 AM
    666 views | 0 replies
  • Animate a 3D Scatterplot

    You can animate the spinning of a 3D scatterplot in any of these ways: To spin the scatterplot at a certain speed, hold down the Shift key, click and drag an empty area on the plot, and release Shift. The faster you drag the mouse, the faster the 3D scatterplot spins.To spin the scatterplot in a certain direction, hold down the Shift key and press an arrow key, and then release Shift. To stop the ...

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:55 AM
    1844 views | 0 replies
  • Resize Graphs (macOS)

    To resize several similar graphs in the same window simultaneously, hold the Command key and resize one graph. All the graphs are resized to match the one that you changed. Resizing Graphs Resizing Graphs

    ruthhummel ruthhummel
    Dec 21, 2023 11:54 AM
    636 views | 0 replies