cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
  • Don’t miss your chance to experience Discovery Summit Europe at our best available rate! Early bird registration through 31 Oct.
  • Graph Builder Toolbar streamlines interactive graphing. Creates shortcuts on Report and GraphBuilder Helpers toolbars. Download and install the extension.
  • JMP will suspend normal business operations for our Rest and Recharge Day on Friday, October 2, 2026.
    Regular business hours will resume on Monday, October 5, 2026.

JMP Library

Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Variables Control Charts – I/MR Charts

This guide provides instructions for creating I & MR (Individuals and Moving Range) control charts using the Control Chart Builder and the Control Chart platform. I/MR control charts are used to monitor a continuous variable where the data is sampled without subgroups.

I/MR Charts – Control Chart Builder

  1. From an open JMP® data table, select Analyze > Quality and Process > Control Chart Builder.
  2. Drag a continuous variable from Select Columns (continuous variables have blue triangles), and drop it in the Y zone. By default, JMP produces a control limit summaries table and two charts: Individuals (Individual Measurements) and Moving Range (the moving range between each pair of consecutive points).  Right-click on the graph and select Limits > Sigma to change the method for estimating the standard deviation.
  3. If available, drag and drop a variable in the Phase zone (top), and click the Done button when finished.

I/MR Charts – Control Chart Platform

  1. From an open JMP data table, select Analyze > Quality and Process > Control Chart > IMR Control Chart.
  2. Select one or more continuous variables from Select Columns, and click Process. Add a variable defining phases into the Phase role if desired. Click OK.

Notes:Additional options, such as tests for special causes, are available from the Red Triangles in the Control Chart platform (or Right-click on the graph in the Control Chart Builder).

Diameter.jmp (Help > Sample Data Folder > Quality Control)Diameter.jmp (Help > Sample Data Folder > Quality Control)

 

gail_massari_1-1755792315117.png

 

Visit Quality and Process Methods > Control Chart Builder and Legacy Control Charts in JMP Help to learn more.

Recommended Articles