cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
scottmpatt
Level II

open URL as text, import text as data table

Hello all, I am very new to scripting in JMP and I had some questions about my code.

Here's what I have. There is a data table I created called yield_production_5292013.jmp. In this data table I have a cloumn with a bunch of separate URL's that get sent to a website which in turn gives me an xml file with lots of data that JMP opens as text. What I would like to do is open each url in jmp then have a script to automatically import this text file as a new table.(this is compared to manually selecting file>import as data)

I know this seems odd to open a file as text then import it as a new table, however if I open the url output as a data table from the get go, the resulting table is unusable.

I have already written the script that I use after this text is imported as a data table, and it searches the appropriate column and row for the two data points that I need and copies them into the correct location in a new file.

Here is what I have so far, I know it isnt much but at least this opens up one url as a text file.

dt = data table ("yield_production_5292013");

i=1; // i have 1780 rows of urls to be opened, however i want to get the code running for a single line before I expand it

dt = current data table();

open(column("URL"));

What happens after I run this script is a file pops up called v4.xml

I want my code to then import this text as data.

Anybody know how to help????

Thanks for the help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
scottmpatt
Level II

Re: open URL as text, import text as data table