Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

graph axis format log decimal

johnm

Community Trekker

Joined:

Apr 11, 2016

I have been using the following code and then Fit Y by X to make the plot.

new column ("|ing|", formula (abs(:ing)));

column ("|ing|") << data type(numeric) << modeling type (continuous) << format (scientific) << set property ("axis", {scale(log),Min(1e-13),Max(1e-5)});

 

Recently converted to JMP12.

Now, when plotting this col as dep variable, the number format decimal places in the plot has added decimal places.

How may I control the number of decimal places without having to manually change the axis format using Axis Settings?

 

 

 

 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
danschikore

Staff

Joined:

Sep 21, 2012

Solution

You can add "width" and "ndecimals" arguments to the format, for example:

 

Format( scientific, 15, 3 )

 

danschikore

Staff

Joined:

Sep 21, 2012

Solution

Axes generally have additional logic for formatting.  They can also dynamically adjust the decimals when zooming in and out, in order to ensure that there is enough resolution in the labelled ticks.  Your solution in option #3 of setting the format directly on the axis is probably the best way to go.

3 REPLIES
danschikore

Staff

Joined:

Sep 21, 2012

Solution

You can add "width" and "ndecimals" arguments to the format, for example:

 

Format( scientific, 15, 3 )

 

johnm

Community Trekker

Joined:

Apr 11, 2016

Three attempts to produce the the bivar plot with desired dep axis scientific formatting with decimal = 0.

 

Only option three is giving the dep axis to have the desired format.

Why doesn't option #2, using the col > col properties > axis > 

or

using col > standardize properties > format

produce the desired format of the dep variable:  scientific, decimal=0?

 

I've attached an example jmp data file and jsl file.

 

Thanks,

John

danschikore

Staff

Joined:

Sep 21, 2012

Solution

Axes generally have additional logic for formatting.  They can also dynamically adjust the decimals when zooming in and out, in order to ensure that there is enough resolution in the labelled ticks.  Your solution in option #3 of setting the format directly on the axis is probably the best way to go.