cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
MartinY
Level III

a simple mixture DoE problem

I am a chemist working with cementitious formulations.

Below is an example:

Ingredient%
OPC30
Sand54.38
CAC15
retarder0.12
accelerator0.2
additive0.3
Total100

I am only interested in three ingredients: CAC; retarder, and accelerator. I want to vary them as below:

Low          high

CAC:              10%          15%

retarder:          0.07%      0.14%

accelerator      0.10%       0.2%

however, in order to varies three ingredients listed above, I have to drag another ingredient, sand, to absorb the changes to make sure CAC+retarder+accelerator+sand=const.

then a 3 ingredients design becomes a 4 ingredients design.

Is there any way I can only work with the 3 ingredients I am interested in?

Thanks

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Re: a simple mixture DoE problem

It seems that including sand in the design would be an advantage, because then JMP would tell you the proportion of sand needed.

Once you open Custom Design and define the three (or four) ingredients, click the red triangle at the top and select Advanced Options > Mixture Sum. You can define the amount that the ingredients in the study make up in the entire formulation. In your case, it seems like that would be 1 minus the proportion of OPC and additive.

(Note that JMP uses proportions (0-1), not percentages (0%-100%).

View solution in original post

Hello,