cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Have your say in shaping JMP's future by participating in the new JMP Wish List Prioritization Survey
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
User5555
Level I

Wide confidence intervals in Profiler for Binomial Generalized Regressions

Hello all,

I am doing predictive modeling and would appreciate feedback on how well my model fits as I am new to modeling and don't want to make any mistakes in model selection. I have a binomial categorical response and continuous predictors (n=54, p=15). I have chosen a penalized model, Elastic Net, and my model seems to have an okay fit (RSquare = .28, ROC = .7888, pdf file attached). 

I am concerned about the large confidence intervals shown in the profiler graphs, and want to make sure my model isn't overfit. That being said, the example binomial general regression shown in jmp documentation also has wide confidence intervals, so I'm wondering what is acceptable/expected with a binomial general regression (https://www.jmp.com/support/help/en/17.1/index.shtml#page/jmp/example-of-binomial-generalized-regres... ). 

Do you have any feedback on if my model is showing signs of being overfit or if it looks safe to proceed? Are there any other metrics I should be considering in evaluating my fit?

Thank you in advance for taking a look at this! 

6 REPLIES 6
statman
Super User

Re: Wide confidence intervals in Profiler for Binomial Generalized Regressions

Welcome to the community.  I'm not sure I can provide all of the advice you need regarding modeling on this forum.  What version of JMP are you using? It is also very difficult to provide advice with such little context.  What is the response?  How confident are you in the measurement of the response?  How did you get the data set?