cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
emmahoulder
Level I

Why do i get "Convergence Questionable: check iterations" when running standard least squares mixed model?

Hi All, 

I am a biomed PhD student, and hypothesise that a particular cell type increases at with different length of drug treatments (e.g. comparing PBS control to d12 of treatment to d19 of treatment). I have used JMP pro12 and run a standard least squares model. I have performed two experiments to test this, and have set the experiment code as a random effect. The other effect is treatment. 

I am looking at the Fixed effect test -> effect details -> LS means differences Tukeys HSD -> ordered differences report to see if the treatments are significantly different. The fixed effect test has a dot instead of a p value in the prob>f column, and there is also dots in the Lower CL/Upper CL columns. I am therefore not sure whether to believe the p-value (<0.0001). 

I think this might be to do with the "Convergence Questionable: check iterations" error?

Do you know how to fix this? Can I trust the p values and say that there are significant differences between all my groups or is my data not suitable for this test?

Thanks a lot!

EmmaScreen Shot 2020-05-06 at 16.07.17.pngScreen Shot 2020-05-06 at 16.07.25.pngScreen Shot 2020-05-06 at 16.11.29.png

4 REPLIES 4
Phil_Kay
Staff

Re: Why do i get "Convergence Questionable: check iterations" when running standard least squares mixed model?

Hi Emma,
It will help if you can attach the JMP data table.
I am wondering about correlation between Treatment and Expt and it will be much easier to explore that if you can provide the JMP table.
Thanks,
Phil
Phil_Kay
Staff