cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
chiwei
Level I

What is the meaning of numerical arguments in Legend or Overlay functions?

Hi,

I am a newbie to JSL. I am very confusing about the argument values of legend and overlay functions in Graph Builder. For example,  19-21 and 25-27 in the following script. When I change these values, the graph seems no changes. Besides, I found "Overlay( 0 )" in some scripts. What are the meaning of these values? Thanks a lot in advance!

dt = Open("$SAMPLE_DATA/Hybrid Fuel Economy.jmp");

dt << Graph Builder(
	Variables( Y( :Comb MPG ), Y( :Hwy MPG ), Y( :City MPG ), Group X( :Engine ) ),
	Elements(
		Position( 1, 1 ),
		Box Plot( Y, Legend( 19 ) ),
		Caption Box( Y, Legend( 25 ), Summary Statistic( "Median" ) )
	),
	Elements(
		Position( 1, 2 ),
		Box Plot( Y, Legend( 20 ) ),
		Caption Box( Y, Legend( 26 ) )
	),
	Elements(
		Position( 1, 3 ),
		Box Plot( Y, Legend( 21 ) ),
		Caption Box( Y, Legend( 27 ) )
	)
);

4 REPLIES 4
gzmorgan0
Super User (Alumni)

Re: What is the meaning of numerical arguments in Legend or Overlay functions?

The Legend numbering for GraphBuilder can be a little confusing.  Syntax like Overlay(0) is a binomial option: 0 =>False/No,  1 => True/Yes. There are other numeric options that are types, like Polynomial(3) representing a cubic polynomial, or Spline(.1),  or Marker(3) since Marker options start at 0 it is the 4th marker in the UI display,