cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
jk577648
Level I

Using log of variables in linear regression?

I am a new student using JMP and have a question.

I have a dataset with several variables that are heavily skewed as evidenced by their distributions.  One is my dependent variable and the others are all independent variables.

I create new columns using the Log_variable for the dependent variable and one of the primary independent variables. 

Both of their distributions improved significantly towards a normal distribution.

As mentioned above, I have other independent variables that are also heavily skewed and am considering converting them to logs.

My question is, is it always advisable to convert the heavily skewed independent variables to log_variable?

Or should this be used minimally?

FYI - I will run a multiple regression analysis on the variables once I have them "prepared" (i.e. address the missing values and potential outliers, created log_variables).

Thanks,

JK

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Using log of variables in linear regression?

The requirement of normality applies to the conditional distribution of the response, not the overall or marginal distribution. It does not apply to the predictor variables at all. Some of the skew might be non-random and explained by the model! For that reason we assess the residuals. We expect them to be normally distributed, independent, and have constant variance. There are diagnostic tools in the Fit Least Squares platform to help you assess the issue.