Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Use two columns to set a range(start and stop) where y-value is valid

tobben24

Community Trekker

Joined:

Nov 2, 2016

Hi,

 

Title was maybe a bit badly explained, but below I added a simple csv example and a visio plot illustrating what I want. Not sure what to call this kind of plot, or how to use two columns to set a range(start and stop) where y-value is valid.

 
CSV:
Column Y;Column X0;Column X1
20;0;5
30;10;15
 
example.PNG
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
thickey1

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jun 4, 2015

Solution

1. Add group column

2. Stack Table by X1,X2

3. Make Overlay Plot

4. Overlay Groups

5. Connect Through Missing

 

May not be the most elegant but kinda gets you what you described

 

overlay.png

txnelson

Super User

Joined:

Jun 22, 2012

Solution

Read in the data into JMP

Stack the data either interactively or with the script

Data Table( "Untitled 4" ) << Stack(
	columns( :Column X0, :Column X1 ),
	Source Label Column( "Label" ),
	Stacked Data Column( "Data" )
);

Then run graph builder interactively or by using the script below

Graph Builder(
	Variables( X( :Data ), Y( :Column Y ), Overlay( :Column Y ) ),
	Elements( Line( X, Y, Legend( 5 ) ) ),
	SendToReport(
		Dispatch(
			{},
			"400",
			ScaleBox,
			{Legend Model(
				5,
				Properties( 0, {Line Color( 20 )} ),
				Properties( 1, {Line Color( 20 )} )
			)}
		)
	)
);

Graph Builder.png

 

 

Jim
4 REPLIES
thickey1

Community Trekker

Joined:

Jun 4, 2015

Solution

1. Add group column

2. Stack Table by X1,X2

3. Make Overlay Plot

4. Overlay Groups

5. Connect Through Missing

 

May not be the most elegant but kinda gets you what you described

 

overlay.png

tobben24

Community Trekker

Joined:

Nov 2, 2016

Thanks for your reply, I have now managed to do what I wanted:)
txnelson

Super User

Joined:

Jun 22, 2012

Solution

Read in the data into JMP

Stack the data either interactively or with the script

Data Table( "Untitled 4" ) << Stack(
	columns( :Column X0, :Column X1 ),
	Source Label Column( "Label" ),
	Stacked Data Column( "Data" )
);

Then run graph builder interactively or by using the script below

Graph Builder(
	Variables( X( :Data ), Y( :Column Y ), Overlay( :Column Y ) ),
	Elements( Line( X, Y, Legend( 5 ) ) ),
	SendToReport(
		Dispatch(
			{},
			"400",
			ScaleBox,
			{Legend Model(
				5,
				Properties( 0, {Line Color( 20 )} ),
				Properties( 1, {Line Color( 20 )} )
			)}
		)
	)
);

Graph Builder.png

 

 

Jim
tobben24

Community Trekker

Joined:

Nov 2, 2016

Thanks for your reply as well, as written above I have now managed to do what I wanted:)