cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
ig
ig
Level I

SAS datasets "Open With" JMP

Hi,

I am new to JMP and would like to use it with SAS datasets on Windows XP.

Is it possible to set the “use SAS variable names as column headers” option globally in JMP, so it will be invoked even when a SAS dataset is being open by clicking on “Open with” in Windows Explorer?

Thank you for advance.
IG
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
susan_walsh1
Staff (Retired)

Re: SAS datasets "Open With" JMP

In JMP 10 and later, go to File --> Preferences, select SAS Integration, and turn on the option to "Use SAS Column Labels for Column Names during data import". This option now works to automatically use the column labels regardless of the way the SAS data table is opened in JMP.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
mpb
mpb
Level VII

I am not seeing a way to directly do what you ask though it may be possible and someone here may show you the way. However, it is possible through scripting to change the column headers of the imported table to the equivalent SAS variable names. When you open a SAS dataset in JMP, JMP appears to create 2 new properties for each column. One is called SAS Name and the other is called SAS Label. You want to replace the JMP column names with the SAS Names. Here is a script to do that (at least in 8.0.1):

dt = Data Table( "DemoSAS" );
lastcol = N Col( dt );

For( i = 1, i < lastcol+1, i++,
col = Column Name( i );
SASn = col << Get Property( "SAS Name" );
col << Set Name( Char( Eval Expr( SASn ) ) );
);