cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
frankderuyck
Level VI

Predictor screening

For predictor screening in JMP bootstrap forest is used; this works very well however why is this method chosen and not boosted tree which is also a very powerful method? Does JMP use XGboosted?

4 REPLIES 4
SDF1
Super User

Re: Predictor screening

Hi @frankderuyck ,

I'm not an expert in how JMP actually performs things on the back end (the precise coding that is executed), but I believe bootstrap forest is used because it has two layers of randomization to it: one is randomly selecting a subset of the factors. For example, if you have a column you want to predict and test which of 10 factors best contribute to that prediction, the bootstrap forest approach will randomly select a subset, say 6 of the ten and use a decision tree to best predict the outcome and then rank the factors based on their contribution. The other randomization is bootstrap forest randomly selects a certain number of rows to fit the model and then the remainder to validate (or simplify it), and it does this with random selection and replacement at each iteration. It's my understanding that boosted tree by default does not do this.

As to your last question, you can download the XGBoost add-in for JMP Pro from the JMP website. It works for JMP Pro 14 and up, I believe.

On a side note, since it sounds like you are working with JMP Pro, you might want to run the GenReg platform and use the different prediction algorithms (Lasso, Elastic Net, etc.) to see the model coefficient estimates and run some bootstrap simulations there as well. Sometimes you get different answers and this can help to determine if a borderline factor is really important or not. I often do both approaches if I am tasked with finding the best predictor set for a model.

Hope this helps!,

DS

frankderuyck
Level VI

Thanks for this extended answer!