BookmarkSubscribe
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Domix
Occasional Contributor

Non-linear modeling, plotting issue

Hi all, 

I performed the nonlinear modeling on a data set which is divided in 2 groups by a label. 

The modeling works just fine, but is it possible to have the 2 fit curves of the dataset on the same graph? 

I've tried with the option Group but it doesn't work... 

What can I do?

Thank you!

0 Kudos
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
txnelson
Super User

Re: Non-linear modeling, plotting issue

You should be able to use Graph Builder, specifying the predictor(formula) column as the Y column, your X column as specified, and then use your grouping column as the overlay column.

If I am still not getting you where you need to go, could you provide some sample data?  I am not a Nonlinear expert, so if I am missing the finer points..........

nonlin2.PNG

Jim

Remember to right-click in the Graph Builder plot and select Smoother > Change to > Formula. (Assuming that you save the fitted nonlinear model as a column formula.)

Learn it once, use it forever!
6 REPLIES 6
txnelson
Super User

Can you provide more specifics, 

The version of JMP

The Nlin method you are using

Below is a run of the Nonlinear platform, of age by height, grouped by sex, and it is showing the fit for both sexes on the same graph, in 2 different formats.

nonlin.PNG

Jim
0 Kudos
Domix
Occasional Contributor

I'm using the Nonlinear fitting on JMP14.

To fit the data I created a new column where to store as formula the model, because it's not in the default fitting type. I'm using this to perform the fitting and obtained the parameters. 

0 Kudos
txnelson
Super User

You should be able to use Graph Builder, specifying the predictor(formula) column as the Y column, your X column as specified, and then use your grouping column as the overlay column.