cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Justin_Bui
Level III

Newbie to statistic: Is that a P-hacking if I do equivalence test several time?

Hi all, 

I'm new to statistic & really need your help here. 

My question is: Is that ok or not OK if I do equivalence test several times to find the equivalent limit that has 2 p-values < 5%. 

I have 2 groups data like below & I want to test if they are equal or different. 

Justin_Bui_0-1667441965228.png

1st step I did a t-test & Pvalue> 5% mean I failed to reject H0  (Test= ref). Not really help much to define my next actions. 

So I do an equivalence test with the equivalent limit of +/-0.1 as a practical range

But again the result is not really good. I just can conclude that my Test group is higher then REF 0.1 unit or lower. 

Still not a useful enough result for next actions 

Justin_Bui_1-1667442200244.png

So I increase several time until reach the equivalent limit 0.16 unit & have 2 P-value <5% 

Which I can interpret result as 2 group is equal in 0.16 unit range.

Meaning that My TEST group can higher/ lower than REF +/- 0.16 unit. (or could be equal too)

Justin_Bui_0-1667443880792.png

So I can estimate the best case if this 0.16 unit higher or lower the current is OK for my next action. 

Is my conclusion correct? & Is that possible for me to do that? or Am I P-hacking? 

Just a newbie in statistic need your help. 
Thanks all 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Newbie to statistic: Is that a P-hacking if I do equivalence test several time?

Adding to @Phil_Kay, you should have a clear, well-defined question or purpose for the test you are to perform. Your example is a case of p-hacking. Only one of these tests is relevant to your purpose. You should not apply more than one test until you find a favorable result. One test suffices, and you accept the answer either way.