cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
AmitBhasin
Level I

Multiple Regression in Split Plot Design

Hello everyone:

I recently started learning JMP and its great! However, I am having trouble with analyzing one of my data set. It was set up as a Split Plot Design.  Can anyone provide me some insight if I am in the right direction?

I have 4 fertilizer treatments (character nominal) as my main plot, each fertilizer treatment is split with 3 rates - low, medium, and high (subplots) and each treatment were replicated four times (blocks). Hence I have a total of 4 treatments X 3 rates X 4 replicates= 48 plots. Furthermore, I have two years of data - 2018 and 2019. I am evaluating the impacts of fertilizer applications on plant yield

I am considering my fertilizer treatments, rates, and year as fixed effects, whereas, I am treating blocks as my random effect.  I am not sure if I am doing it correctly or not. Any help will be appreciated!

I treated fertilizer treatments, year, and block as - Character; nominal. Rate as Character; ordinal and yield (numeric; continuous).

I am also attaching a screenshot with my message. Again, any help will be appreciated!

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Multiple Regression in Split Plot Design

I think that the analysis I showed (and saved as the Model table script) is the best way forward. The model captures the fixed and random effects based on the factor levels and randomization. I just wanted you to know that the zeroed estimate of the whole plot variance is not a mistake or artifact. The data simply is insufficient. Running five rows (in the future) would alleviate that deficiency for you.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10