cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
cchb
Level II

Linear regression with categorical X axis and ANOVA analyses

Hola everyone, I am pretty new to JMP Pro and I have a couple of questions:

1. I am having problems finding how to do a linear regression when the X axis is categorical. I have a dataset of leaves of 9 different age classes (15 to 30 sampled leaves for each leaf age class arranged from youngest to oldest age class as follows: Y1, Y2, Y3, Y/M, M, O, S, O/S1, O/S2), 3 different light conditions (SU, SH Mid, SH Low) and 12 different trees. These leaves have 12 different physical & chemical traits such as leaf thickness, leaf area, leaf water content, leaf carbon content, etc. and I want to find the trend for each leaf trait (Y axis) arranged by tree and light condition as the leaves age (X axis). I have tried going into the "Analyze" menu and doing a "Fit Y by X" regression arranged by tree and light condition but what I get is a Oneway Analysis for the leaf trait and I don't know what to do with this.

2. I need to perform 1 & 2-way ANOVAS and Tukey HSD tests but I can't find the platforms for these and HELP has so far not been very helpful.

I have previously used SPSS to do stats so I am a bit lost as to how to get the above mentioned analyses done in JMP Pro.

Many thanks in advance for the help,

Cecilia

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ms
Super User (Alumni) ms
Super User (Alumni)

Re: Linear regression with categorical X axis and ANOVA analyses