cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
WyattH
Level II

Is there a way to do PCA in JMP with binary and continuous data?

Hi I am sorry if this is a silly question. I am still new to statistics and what I understand of PCA is that it can only accept continuous input. (Does the PCA in JMP works the same way?)

I have been reading online topics and saw there are nonlinear PCA? That can use binary and continuous data.

Just wanted to ask if there's any setting in JMP Pro 13 to do PCA with binary and continuous data. Also is it correct use of PCA if I just set as 0, 1 for the binary data column -> treat the column as continuous number and use Sparse as estimation method?

One last question, let's say I have columns with continuous numbers e.g., 1.0, 2.1, 3.09 

And columns with discrete numbers e.g., 1, 7, 3, 18, 20, 5 ++ 

Do JMP consider these types of columns as continuous values that are suitable for PCA inputs?

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
LauraCS
Staff

Re: Is there a way to do PCA in JMP with binary and continuous data?

Hi WyattH,

The PCA platform in JMP gives you a choice as to whether you want to position the origin at the centroid of the data. If you choose to do PCA  "on Covariances" or "on Correlations" the data will be mean-centered (i.e., means will be subtracted from each column) as part of the pre-processing steps (in the latter they'll also be divided by the corresponding standard deviation, creating Z-score variables). However, if you choose "on Unscaled" the data won't be corrected for the mean. The Unscaled option is mostly there for data that have been previously centered.