Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
JMPPRO
Level II

How to find the best model for my nominal variable

Hello,

I have a nominal response variable which can have two states 1 and 0 and 6 input variables (numeric, continuous). How can I find the best model to predict my response variable? This is probably a very broad question but I would like to understand the process of getting and building the best model for my response variable. 

So some of the questions I have are the following:

1.) How do I know if I should use Partition or Fit Model?

2.) When I use Regression (Fit Model), how do I know which Macros to use? Full Factorial, Polynomial to Degree, etc.? To which degree? The higher the better?

3.) What about the personality? Should I use Nominal Logistic or Stepwise Regression?

As you can see I am a beginner in building predictive models and would like to understand the process or maybe there is guide that I can follow to build the best model for my data.

Thanks. 

2 REPLIES 2
statman
Super User

Re: How to find the best model for my nominal variable

I suggest you start with some basics.  These can be self guided or live webinars:

https://www.jmp.com/en_us/events/live-webinars/getting-started-with-jmp/getting-started-with-jmp-02a...

https://www.jmp.com/en_us/events/getting-started-with-jmp/doe-intro-kit.html

There are many ways to build models.  Additive, subtractive.  Regression from an existing data set or from a designed experiment.  The models you are capable of estimating depend on how you got the data.

"All models are wrong, some are useful" G.E.P. Box
P_Bartell
Level VIII

Re: How to find the best model for my nominal variable