cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
tei
tei
Level I

How to draw conclusions from circle comparison graph

Hi,

This is my first time posting to this forum, but I was wondering if the community might be able some information regarding the circle comparison graph on a student's t-test performed on an XY chart.  First off, let me state that I am not a statistical expert and have been only using JMP for a short time now.  In the process of trying to convince more people to use it, there have been a few colleagues who question its practicality and the conclusions that we can draw from the data. I was wondering if the community might be able some information regarding the circle comparison graph on a student's t-test performed on an XY chart.

The skepticism was generated from a data set consisting of a table with 500 samples represented by two columns, column (A) being a number between zero and one(ie: 0.4876).  Column (B) was a choice of 6 separate conditions (ie: X/Y/Z or X/X/Y). We then generated a "Plot Y by X" and associated column (A) with the "Y" choice in the graph interface and column(B) with with "X" choice so that the data points were grouped into 6 columns on the graph.  We then performed a student's t-test and showed the comparison circles on the right of the plot.