cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Tamara_We
Level I

How to add multiple measurements of a sample into my experimental design?

Hello JMP users,

I am new to JMP and am currently writing my master's thesis. For this I am planning a Central Composite Design - Rotatable with 6 central points. I have 5 factors and 8 responses. The aim is to develop an optimal formulation for a product.

For each response I will measure each sample/pattern in five replications. Later, when I want to enter the results for the responses, I have the following questions:

1. For each pattern there is only one row for entering the measured results for each response. Do I have to enter the mean value of the samples I measured five times or is it possible to enter all five measured results of each sample individually so that the design takes this into account? Is it possible to add manually 4 more rows for each pattern into the design to enter the five measurements (that would be a total of 160 measurement results)?

2) What does "replicate" mean when creating the Central Composite Design? Does this mean multiple measurements of a sample or is each sample produced separately?

I have attached a section of my design as a picture.

Thank you in advance for help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Victor_G
Super User

Re: How to add multiple measurements of a sample into my experimental design?

Hello @Tamara_We,

Welcome in the Community !
Here are some first answers to your questions :

• Difference between repetition and replication : Repetition is about making multiple response(s) measurements on the same experimental run (same sample), while replication is making multiple experimental runs (multiple samples) for each treatment combination. 
    • Replications are used in order to estimate more precisely pure error and parameters estimates more accurately.