cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
SaraHorta23
Level I

How do I identify words (using formula in column) that have more than 2 characters different from my reference word?

Hi Everyone, 

I have a column composed by words that have combination of different characters (ie. AAAAAAAAAA - word with 10 characters). I want to identify in an adjacent column the words that have more than 2 characters different (ie. ABAAAACEAA). The position at which the letters are different doesn't matter and additionally, some words can also be shorter or longer than my reference word.

Therefore, I want to achieve a formula that would allow me to distinguish/identify words that have less/more than 2 different characters difference from my reference sequence and have the same length. I'm still a beginner in JMP and don't know if this is possible to achieve. Let me know if you have any suggestions

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jthi
Super User

Re: How do I identify words (using formula in column) that have more than 2 characters different from my reference word?

Thank you for extra info! Check out Shortest Edit Script from Scripting index:

jthi_0-1644415162212.png

With that you might be able to do something, unless it is too slow. Pat Match could also maybe do this, but I haven't (yet) looked into how to use it properly.

editList = Shortest Edit Script(:List of sequences, "FEBRUARY");
common = "";
For(i = 1, i <= N Items(editList), i++,
	If(editList[i][1] == "Common",
		common = common || editList[i][2]
	)
);
Length(common) < Length(:List of sequences) - 2;

jthi_1-1644415221426.png

-Jarmo

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
ian_jmp
Staff

Re: How do I identify words (using formula in column) that have more than 2 characters different from my reference word?