cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
chris_G_ttu
Level II

How do I do T Test with data inside a column

Hi,

I do not know how to tell JMP to set up a t test the way I want. For example, I have two columns with my data. Column1 is A B C and column 2 is 1 2 3. I am trying to compare A1 to A2 and B1 to B2 etc. How can I do this in JMP? When I use the fit y by x and use the two exmaple columns it will give A vs B  A vs C etc. If I try to use a data filter  to filter 2 and 3 it will just show A1 vs B1. Do I need to make a column for each letter and number in order to get A1 vs A2 or is is there a simple way? My data set is pretty large so making columns for each letter and number would be difficult.  I am new to JMP and I have been trying to find a tuttorial to what I am trying to do. However I have not had much luck with my serach. If this has been answerd before then I would apperciate if some one could point in the right direction so that I can learn how to do what I am trying to do.

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: How do I do T Test with data inside a column

This does help. 

Because you have two different factors (Material and Type), you should really consider building a model rather than analyzing as a one-way ANOVA. I am also a little confused on why you are not interested in tests involving type 3 materials. Anyhow, here is one approach to making this happen (there are others).