cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
jwhiting
Level I

How do I choose between a Wilcoxon, Wilcoxon Signed Rank, or t-test with matched observations?

I'm new to JMP, and trying to determine which test is appropriate for my study. I have matched biological measurements at two time points (before and after a meal) for 25 individual donors. Each donor has a single data point per time point. The population has a large standard deviation for most of these measurements, and usually the results do not have a normal distribution. Some observations have a few outliers. I have attached a sample graph depicting my data.

Is it appropriate to analyze the data with a simple t-test or Wilcoxon test via the Fit Y by X menu? Or should I perform the analysis using the Specialized Modeling > Matched Pairs > Wilcoxon Signed Rank approach? The main question in this study is whether or not the biological measurement (ie, yield) changes after eating a meal. I'm not particularly interested in donor-specific responses, more the trend of the population as a whole. Any advice on which test to use, and how to execute that test in JMP, would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Jen

Yield, before and after a meal. Each dot represents one donor, line connecting donor yield before/after. Red lines indicate SDYield, before and after a meal. Each dot represents one donor, line connecting donor yield before/after. Red lines indicate SD

3 REPLIES 3
msharp
Super User (Alumni)

Re: How do I choose between a Wilcoxon, Wilcoxon Signed Rank, or t-test with matched observations?