cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
JDA
JDA
Level II

How do I add multiple data to the same graph?

Good morning/afternoon everyone.  

I feel like this should be really very straight forward, but I am struggling to work out how to do this.  In OriginPro this is really easy, but I am having to use JMP for work for the first time and so I am a total novice with this program.  

The problem: I have two sets of XRD data.  One from an older machine, one from a brand new machine.  The data is taken over the same domain, from roughly -6000 to +3000 arc seconds.  However, the spacing of the data points is different between the two machines.  

So I have these two datasets and I need to overlay them on the same plot.  Definitions of x (angle in arcseconds) and y (intensity in CPS) are the same.  

For both data sets the main reflection occurs at approximately 0 arcseconds (as expected).  Attached are plots of data from the two machines (D1 and V1).  

I have tried to use Graph Builder to add these data to the same graph, to overlay one on top of the other.  I have tried dragging both x domains to the x axis, but this does not result in the desired behaviour.  Rather than D1 being plotted against "it's" x, and V1 being plotted "it's" x, both data sets are being plotted using only one of the x ranges.  So this results in one of the datasets being either compressed or stretched, depending which x is used.  Attached is both datasets plotted in graph builder, and you can see the problem.  

All I want is the x range to be fixed, and for the multiple y to be plotted against an x axis.  

Given that I am still new to JMP an interactive solution would be preferable, but if a script is the only possible way then I will accept that as well.  

Thanks in advance for your help.  

V1V1

D1D1

D1+V1D1+V1

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
pmroz
Super User