cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Nafis1991
Level II

How I can I know if linear model or non-linear regression model fit to my variables?

Hello,

I am a beginner user of JMP since I have recently finished the DOE course provided by Coursera. However, I have to use it in my project and so, I am trying to use JMP community forums to find my responses. But, in this case, I could not find the response that I am looking for.

I have a 2-level full factorial design with 3 variables and with 2 center points. I considered 2 replicates and therefore, totally 20 runs. I made the data table with DOE > Classical > Full factorial design. For analyzing my data: Analyze > Fit model, Personality: Standard Least Squares, Emphasis: Effect Screening. My purpose was to know if my variables are fitted in a linear model or non-linear model? Because in Minitab, I think using "Analysis of Variance", the "quadratic term" shows if it is significance or not. I tried different Macros is JMP, but no one shows any sign of linearity or non-linearity as I knew.

JMP, Version 17.2.0 (701896)

Kindly I attached screenshots of my data table and fit model. 

I would appreciate it if you help me in this case.  

Thank you,

Nafiseh

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Victor_G
Super User

Re: How I can I know if linear model or non-linear regression model fit to my variables?

Hello @Nafis1991,

Ok, the values for the response make a lot more sense now and I'm able to reproduce your results. So based on these values and on your questions, I think you might be interested in general on how to validate your regression model, and what to take care of. There are great ressources about this topic to dive deeper :

To check your model fit and assumptions, you can take a look at :