Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
shasheminassab
Level IV

Help with writing a loop in JSL

I need to download the data that is available through a url:

http://www.arpalazio.net/main/aria/sci/basedati/chimici/BDchimici/RM/MedieGiornaliere/RM_PM2.5_2019_gg.txt

To download the data for different years, I need to change the year in the url, as shown in red. I would like to write a loop in JSL that runs through the years from 1990 to 2021 and put the data in a table. I am new to JSL so any help on that end is greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jthi
Super User

Re: Help with writing a loop in JSL

You need couple of things for this: Loop (for-loop), way to build the url (eval insert), way to load data from the url (Open with correct arguments) and way to combine the data (concatenate).

Names Default To Here(1);

//We can use Eval Insert to replace ^temp_year^ in the string
dl_url = "http://www.arpalazio.net/main/aria/sci/basedati/chimici/BDchimici/RM/MedieGiornaliere/RM_PM2.5_^temp_year^_gg.txt";
dt = New Table(); //table to collect results

//for-loop
For(i = 1990, i <= 2021, i++,
	temp_year= Char(i);
	year_url = Eval Insert(dl_url);
	//downloaded first one file by hand -> opened in JMP to get Open with correct parameters and replaced file path with URL
	Try(
		dt_temp = Open(
			year_url,
			Import Settings(
				End Of Line(CRLF, CR, LF),
				End Of Field(Spaces, Space, CSV(0)),
				Strip Quotes(1),
				Use Apostrophe as Quotation Mark(0),
				Use Regional Settings(0),
				Scan Whole File(1),
				Treat empty columns as numeric(0),
				CompressNumericColumns(0),
				CompressCharacterColumns(0),
				CompressAllowListCheck(0),
				Labels(1),
				Column Names Start(1),
				Data Starts(2),
				Lines To Read("All"),
				Year Rule("20xx")
			)
		);
		dt << Concatenate(dt_temp, Append to first table(1));
		Close(dt_temp, no save);
		Show(exception_msg)
	);
);