cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Register for our Discovery Summit 2024 conference, Oct. 21-24, where you’ll learn, connect, and be inspired.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Having trouble running a Gage R&R study due to an error message

Hi everyone,

I'm new to JMP and currently using version 17 on Windows.

I'm trying to conduct a Gage R&R study by going to Analyze > Quality and Process > Measurement Systems Analysis and selecting Gage Analysis for Measurements. However, when I right-click on the title row and choose Gage R&R, I get the following error message:

"Continuous scale group column cannot be used as a random effect."

I would appreciate any advice on how to resolve this issue.

I apologize if there are any unusual expressions in this text, as it was generated by AI.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Victor_G
Super User

Re: Having trouble running a Gage R&R study due to an error message

Hi @RandomWeasel541,

@Ben_BarrIngh gave you a great explanation about the error message you have received. Using a continuous variable as "X, Grouping" section of the MSA platform may not make any sense, as you could end up having a lot of different groups with no repetitions, preventing from analyzing the repeatability and/or reproducibility of your experimental process.

Instead of using directly this continuous variable as a grouping variable, you could :

• Transform it into a discrete numeric/nominal/ordinal variable if the number of levels is low enought to enable the estimation of repeatability and/or reproductibility of your process in the MSA platform,
  • Create a binning formula of your continuous variable to reduce the number of possible levels to only few ordered ordinal/nominal levels.

Hope these suggestions make sense for your process,

Victor GUILLER
Data & Analytics

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Hi @RandomWeasel541 ,