Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

HOw to change width (fatness) of box plots in graph builder?

ram

Contributor

Joined:

Jun 5, 2017

How i can change the size (width) of the box plot in graph builder? they are so thin. i do not want stretch the graph unnecesarily. there seems to be quit of space between each box .

Thanks

Ram

GB_Pic.PNG

5 REPLIES
XanGregg

Staff

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

There's no width option, but they're usually not that skinny. It can happen if you use the same variable for both X and Overlay. Or maybe if the X is continuous. Can you check those or share a little more about how you're creating the view?

ram

Contributor

Joined:

Jun 5, 2017

X and overlay are different are different columns (names). X is nominal. it does not matter ix X is numeric or char. but X is nominal in this case. attached a sample data table. please run the script "Test" in data table.

XanGregg

Staff

Joined:

Jun 23, 2011

Thanks for providing an example. With this sample data, there are a couple things going on. One is that there are a lot of potential box plots. There are 2 levels for P1 X 24 wafers X 13 lot IDs, so Graph Builder is allocating space for 624 box plots, which makes them skinny. However, a little less than half of those combinations contain data, so it only draws 290 box plots. That's still a lot, and I can see why they look too skinny since half the slots are empty. Looks like your data may have even more empty slots.

 

The only remedy I can think of is to create some synthetic variable that represents only non-empty combinations, such as the Wafer ID in lot ID column in the sample data does, but that may give up the consistent coloring.

 

ram

Contributor

Joined:

Jun 5, 2017

Thanks for explaining.

and its kinda wiered the moment you add overlay option, box becomes skinny. :(. Thats only option for coloring boxes by "Split" to have some sort of legend option.

 

Farzaneh

Community Member

Joined:

Dec 11, 2017

Hi,

I want to change the width of my bar chart in JMP so that a two bar chart graph has the similar width  as the 4 bar chart graph.

Thanks