BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
vince_faller

Super User

Joined:

Mar 17, 2015

Getting a data table reference from NewSQLQuery() << Run Background with Names Default to Here(1);

I'm having trouble getting the data table reference if I run in the background.  Anyone know how to get around this?  

 

names default to here(1);

sql_query = New SQL Query(
	Connection(
		"ODBC:DSN=Test Source;DATABASE=Test;"
	),
	QueryName( "Thingy" ),
	Select(
		blah
	),
	From(
		other blah
	)
);

sql_query << Run Background(
	OnRunComplete(
		dt = queryResult;
		dt = data table(queryResult<<Get Name);
		show(dt); //shows correctly for either one
	)
);

show(dt); // it seems like on run complete is local
5 REPLIES 5
danschikore

Staff

Joined:

Sep 21, 2012

Re: Solving Common Data Table Problems With JMP® 13: Can We Replace Summary and Join With the New JMP Query Builder?

Maybe I'm not understanding, but I think this shows why you need the <<OnRunComplete() script.  When run in the background, control returns immediately and the data table does not exist yet.  So you will get an error if you try to use dt before it is created.

 

If you add a Wait(1) between the <<RunBackground() call and the second Show(dt) message, I think both Show() commands will succeed.

vince_faller

Super User

Joined:

Mar 17, 2015

Re: Solving Common Data Table Problems With JMP® 13: Can We Replace Summary and Join With the New JMP Query Builder?

Adding the wait(1) does not make the second show(dt) work.  That's the problem.  There is no way I can find to get a data table reference from a sql query run in the background. 

vince_faller

Super User

Joined:

Mar 17, 2015

Re: Solving Common Data Table Problems With JMP® 13: Can We Replace Summary and Join With the New JMP Query Builder?

Even if I do this. 

 


query_complete = 0;
query << Run Background(
	OnRunComplete(
		query_complete = 1;
		dt = queryResult;
		show(dt); //shows correctly for either one
	)
);

It seems like On Run Complete doesn't affect me.  If I run it it in parts then check the value of query_complete, it's still 0  even after the Run complete script is run.  

danschikore

Staff

Joined:

Sep 21, 2012

Re: Solving Common Data Table Problems With JMP® 13: Can We Replace Summary and Join With the New JMP Query Builder?

In my test I did not add the Names Default To Here(1) - it looks like that is the difference.  The OnRunComplete() function is not running in the same Here namespace as the original script.  If you create your own namespace to hold the results, you should be able to access the variables after the query completes.

vince_faller

Super User

Joined:

Mar 17, 2015

Re: Solving Common Data Table Problems With JMP® 13: Can We Replace Summary and Join With the New JMP Query Builder?

I put in a bug to support.  It looks to me like <<Run Background has its own here namespace that is separate and unable to communicate with mine.  Notice how the value doesn't show the first time, but once it has run the query remembers it's value set.  

query_complete = 0;
dt_list = {};
dt_array = associative array();
str = "A";
ns = new namespace("Test");
query << Run Background(
	OnRunComplete(
		try(show(query_complete)); //this won't show, but if you run it twice it will show as 1
		try(show(dt_list));
		try(show(dt_array));
		try(show(str));
		try(show(ns));
		try(show(namespace("Test")));
		
		query_complete = 1;
	)
);