cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
dg1
dg1
Level III

For loop in New Window

Hi! I am a very beginner JMP user, and am having trouble with getting my for loop to work.  I am trying to ask the user what type of factor each of their factors are. The number of times the question is asked depends on the number of coloumns in the jmp file. I was attempting to use a radio box, but am having trouble with the appending. Below is little snapshot of what I have done. Thanks!

Names Default to Here(1);
dt = Open("Example1.jmp");
number = ncols(dt);

FactorType = {"Continuous", "Categorical"}; 
New Window("Data Entry", << Modal, << return results,
Text Box("Type of Factor");, 
type= V list Box(),
);

For(i= 1, i <= number, i++,
type << Append(Radio Box(FactorType, Max Selected(1)));
);

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
julian
Community Manager Community Manager

Re: For loop in New Window

Hi @dg1,

You're doing everything correctly! But, your use of <<Modal is inhibiting your script from functioning correctly. With a modal window, the remaining script is not executed until the OK button is clicked. If you remove <<modal your script will operate just fine, or alternatively, you can move the For() into the window statement. 

Names Default To Here( 1 );
number = N Cols( dt );

New Window( "Data Entry",
	<<Modal,
	<<return results,
	Text Box( "Type of Factor" ),
	type = V List Box(), 

For( i = 1, i <= number, i++,
		type << Append( Radio Box( FactorType, Max Selected( 1 ) ) )
	);

);

@julian 

View solution in original post

julian

Hi again @dg1,