Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Tehol
Level I

First Time User - Custom DoE

Hello,

I have done design of experiments before, but pretty standard ones (screening design, full factorial).

I have never used JMP before and never attempted at trying my hand at a custom design. I was hoping I could get some input as to the viability of the custom DoE I have created.

I have 4 factors (time, temperature, amount of catalyst, solvent) plus one co-variate factor (water content in my solution).

I want to see how these factors affect the molecular weight of the polymer I am synthesizing.

Any input is appreciated!

custom-design.PNG

4 REPLIES 4
statman
Super User

Re: First Time User - Custom DoE

I am not sure if I can answer your question regarding viability.  Also can't answer if this would be your most effective or efficient means to accomplish what you want.  Just not enough information about the situation.  There are lots of options. 

Custom design is based on the user having some idea of what effects need to be estimated and which do not (and perhaps are there any specific criteria you want to investigate).  I don't know what you predict, but it appears you are concerned with some non-linear effect as it looks like you have some pseudo center points in the design (they aren't really centered). You can evaluate the design using the green arrows under the custom design.  My guess is you have some randomized replicates which may be useful for allowing you to estimate a mixed model.

"All models are wrong, some are useful" G.E.P. Box
Tehol
Level I

Hello statman,

Thank you for your response! I do have an idea of what effects I need to estimate. And as for the center points and replicates --- I added 2 of each while making the design as I've been often told that this makes the overall design better.

Thank you!

Hi Tehol-

Welcome to JMP!