cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Jolene
Level I

Determining sample size for categorical factors

I'm trying to determine the sample size required to make a go/no-go decision on whether or not to make a process change for a categorical factor with 2 levels, and both categorical and continuous responses.  We ran some experiments and saw no statistical significance in the responses between the two levels of the categorical factor, but now we want to know how confident we are that there is no difference.  To answer this, I started playing around with the JMP sample size and power calculator for two sample means.  

I originally thought my sample size was 432, because there were three experiments which each consisting of 72 samples treated with the control process and 72 samples treated with the experimental process, (432 = 72*2*3), but then I wasn't sure what to input as my standard deviation for the categorical response.  I found one resource on the internet that suggested I could calcualte a coefficient of unalikeability to measure variability for categorical responses:   http://jse.amstat.org/v15n2/kader.pdf

If I use this approach I get that at a significante leve of 0.05 with 428 samples and a coefficient of unalikeability of 0.3 that I'll have an 87% chance of detecting a significant difference in the categorical response of 0.09%.  

Jolene_0-1617053687714.png

Anyone have any thoughts on this approach, or ideas on how to figure out sample size and confidence in the results another way?

A colleuge of mine suggests we say the sample size here is only 3, for 3 runs consisting of 72 samples treated with the control process and 72 samples treated with the experimental process.

Thanks,

Jolene

3 REPLIES 3
Georg
Level VII

Re: Determining sample size for categorical factors

First it is important to understand your experiment.