Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Kimani
Level III

DSD Even-Order Effects Estimate and Statistical Significance

Hi, community, 

I am new to definitive screening design and I am trying to get my head around the data I got recently. I had 6 factors, one of which was a categorical variable, and two responses. 

I did an 18 run DSD which only identified 3 factors to be active. The second stage for determining the even-order effects identified all possible 2-factor interactions to be included in the model for one of the responses, even though only the intercept was significant. 

The even-order effect estimates for the other response only included statistically significant 2-factor interactions and quadratic factors. 

I have been reading through the heredity and hierarchical principles but still, I am not able to identify the reason why some of the statistically insignificant interactions and quadratic effects are still included in the model for one response and not for the other. 

Any help will be greatly appreciated. 

I have tried to include a screenshot of the fit definitive screening design I am referring to. 

Capture.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kimani
Level III

Re: DSD Even-Order Effects Estimate and Statistical Significance

@Mark_Bailey 

I contacted technical and they helped me understand the stage 2 selection process. 

The RMSE for stage 2 was larger than that for stage 1. 

The effects can later be removed manually based on judgement. 

From the book: JMP® 13 Design of Experiments Guide