cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
BSindahl
Level I

DOE - Split Plot Designs: Does one ever include center points?

Greetings:  I'm new to split plot designs, understand the basic structure and application.  Does one ever include center points in such a design to detect curvature?  I've searched and searched, but haven't been able to find an answer.  I suspect the answer is "No", but if anyone out there can refer a document or has an answer, I'd love to know the reason.

Cheers, Bruce

6 REPLIES 6
statman
Super User

Re: DOE - Split Plot Designs: Does one ever include center points?

Bruce, there would be nothing wrong with adding center points to a split-plot design.  You should read "Split-plot designs for robust product experimentation", Box and Jones if you really want to take advantage of the capabilities of split-plot designs.  They are NOT just for hard-to-change factors.

"All models are wrong, some are useful" G.E.P. Box
BSindahl
Level I

Awesome Statman, thanks for the info. I'll get the text.

Happy experimenting!

Bruce
Fideliter
Level I

Hi,

Came across your post, and I'm in same predicament. How do you set this up in JMP?

Joe.

statman
Super User

To add center points, the requirement is all of the factors must be continuous (there are workarounds, but none are ideal).  Code the factors levels -1, 1. Then all you do is add rows to the data table populated with 0's.  If you run center points randomly throughout the experiment, you can not only test for curvature, but also stability over the design space.

"All models are wrong, some are useful" G.E.P. Box