Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
bj
bj
Level I

Curve fitting and normalization

I have got a data set which is positively skewed and therefore need to normalize it. I have got a wave form line with age and challenging behaviours present in Individuals with intellectual disabilities. I am totally new to JMP and advanced statistical procedures and this is a big step in requirement of my PhD research. Any step by step guidelines or videos in scale development, curve fitting, normalizing data...Would greatly appreciate any help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Peter_Bartell
Level VIII

Re: Curve fitting and normalization

It appears from the article that the author applied one of the family of Johnson transformations to the variables of interest. Within JMP there's a couple workflows to do something similar with Johnson transformations.

Workflow 1: Create a usual Distribution platform report using the untransformed original units variable. From the Distribution platform report, from the JMP hot spot above the frequency distribution graphic, choose the Continuous Fit drop down option, then the desired Johnson transformation. You can save the transformed variable to the data table from the Johnson Transform graphic hot spot by selecting Save Transformed.

Workflow 2: I think you can use only if you are running JMP version 12 or higher is, from the JMP data table select the specific column you want to transform, then from the column header, right click, New Formula Column -> Distributional -> Johnson Normalizing. This workflow creates a new column in the data table corresponding to the Johnson Sb transform.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
Peter_Bartell
Level VIII