cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
juliet
Level I

Creating a subset of selected Rows in a datatable

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to JSL, and am hoping to get some assistance with an issue I've run into.

I'm trying to create a subset of selected rows (with all columns preserved) from a datatable, but in spite of trying just about everything I can find on these forums, in the JMP scripting guide, and in "Jump into JMP Scripting", I haven't been able to get this to happen.

The closest I've come is with the following, which creates the subset table, but includes all rows rather than just the ones I've selected (and the rows I want ARE selected in the main table) and also eliminates some columns.

data table("JoinedOutput") <<Select Where (Dilution==0.00005);

selRows = N row( dt << Get Selected Rows );

dt << Subset( output table name("JoinedSubset"));

What are people's thoughts? Any and all help is much appreciated!

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ms
Super User (Alumni) ms
Super User (Alumni)

Re: Creating a subset of selected Rows in a datatable

It should work. But are you sure that dt really is the data table "JoinedOutput" and not another table (perhaps the original table before joining...)?

However, Subset() may produce more predictable results with some optional arguments. Try something like this:

dt = Data Table( "JoinedOutput" );
dt << Select Where( :Dilution == 0.00005 );
dt << Subset( Output Table( "JoinedSubset" ), Selected Rows( 1 ), selected columns( 0 ) );

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ms
Super User (Alumni) ms
Super User (Alumni)