cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
mhalwi
Level III

Create a formula for temporary variable

Hi all, 

im still new to JMP scripting. I need help to create a formula to make the value as a variable but with its own name. What i mean is as below. So, i want to create a formula that can make column 4 below as a variable for distribution graph. 

it is like Plastic = 0.424542

the problem right now is the formula name will be in the same which is t4 = :TYPE;:MIN;. So if i want to plot the min value for plastic in the distribution graph, it will take the min value for rock as the formula for rock is also t4. 

so, how i can make the formula so that the variable value become 

Plastic = :TYPE;:MIN;  

Paper = :TYPE;:MIN; 

and so on, then it can be independant variable already. really appreciated if someone can help on this. i have look in the internet for few hours already. 

table.png

15 REPLIES 15
uday_guntupalli
Level VIII

Re: Create a formula for temporary variable

@mhalwi
      I am not sure if I understand what you are trying to do. However, I will try and explain based on what I have understood . 

Shown below is my interpretation of what you are trying to do. Essentially plot a distribution of your data to be able to see the minimum of your type. I presume the graph shhown below achieves that.  

If this is not what you are after, would you be kind enough to provide some screenshots of what you are trying to do - done in Excel - so the community can help you towards what you are trying to achieve ? 
image.png

Best
Uday
julian
Community Manager Community Manager

Hi @mhalwi,